S.P.Rocket Girl

come along for the ride

Who am I?

Unlike many of the riders I race with, I did not grow up around motorcycles. My youth was spent competitively riding horses for the California Dressage Society. Competing at this level is physically demanding and as I got older my back could no longer handle the abuse of riding horses. When I quit riding I felt like I needed another outlet to replace my love for dressage. I chose motorcycles.  At the time I had no idea that buying a motorcycle would lead me to racing.

I have only been riding for the last 3 ½ years and racing for the last 6 months.  The first time I rode on the track was with the Keith Code California Superbike School.  After taking the class I knew that I wanted to continue riding on the track. At this time owned a Triumph Bonneville, not a motorcycle well suited for the track. This was soon replaced with a Ducati Monster.  I took the Monster out to Infineon Raceway about a year after taking the first track class. After only the second time on the road course I knew that I wanted to race.

My brief racing career has taken me from being a talented weekend rider to a racer in three different disciplines: supermoto, road racing, and off-road. Last year I completed the second half of Supermoto USA’s Northern California series. Even with half the season already completed I was able to place 12th in the Adult Mini Class and 3rd in the Beginners class. I also completed two off-road endure races; the Prairie City Grande Prix and Bear Foot Enduro, where I placed 3rd in the woman’s C class. This year I am continuing to ride in these two disciplines as well as competing in in the 250 cc class for AFM. One of my goals is to inspire other women to ride and race. I believe that it is possible to achieve your dream even if you start later in life.

I lead a healthy life and train everyday. During the week I am at the gym swimming, running, and lifting weights. On the weekends I am either at the track or riding off-road on the trails.


					
2 comments on “Who am I?

  1. Christie Cooley
    April 21, 2011

    Awesome Sarah! Was great to see you out on the grid! The more of us there are racing, the more join us! Good luck racing this season and see you next round!

    • Sarah Preston
      April 25, 2011

      Thanks Christie! Hopefully one day I will catch up to you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2011 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
